Maa Katyayani – 6th Day of Navratri

Tomorrow is the sixth day of the Navratri. On the sixth day of Navratri, we worship the goddess Katyayani who is the sixth form of the Goddess Durga. Therefore each and every people seek for blessings and worshipping various forms of the Goddess Durga. According to Hindu mythology, it is believed that Goddess Parvati took the form of the Goddess Katyayini to kill the demon Mahishasura. Therefore Katyayini appears as a warrior Goddess. From ancient times it was said that she took the birth as the daughter of the sage Katyayani due to which she is known as Katyayani. Goddess Katyayani is represented by the four arms.

Her upper left hand has a sword and her lower left hand represents lotus. There are several beliefs that are added while worshipping the Goddess, and her devotees feel the ‘Agya Chakra’ which shows them the path to sacrificing everything to her and she fulfills all the wishes and the desires of the worshippers. If you are facing any issue in your marital life then you can pray to Goddess Katyayini because she will help you to improve your marital life and provides an effective solution that relief to her devotees from all the problems of life.

According to ancient times and Hindu mythology, the sage Katyayani performed the penance to get the Goddess Durga as his daughter. After listening to sage katyanana prayers Goddess Durga accepted his request and was born in the ashram of the Katyayana. Therefore the Mahishasur’s army reached heaven to overthrow the Gods and that is when the deities Brahma, Vishnu, and the Mahesha requested Goddess Durga to end the torment of the Mahishasur. Therefore the sage Katyayana was the first on who got the privilege to worship her hence the name is Katyayani. Additionally, it is believed that the Goddess took the birth on the Krishna Chaturdashi and Katyayana worshipped her on the Shukla Saptami, Ashtami, and Navmi. And on the tenth day, she killed the Mahishasur.

Pujan Vidhi

Follow these rituals to worship goddess Katyayani. First, worship the Kalash and gods residing in it. Afterward, pray to Goddess Katyayani and chant the mantras with the flowers in your hands. When you complete worshiping Goddess Katyayani then worship Lord Brahma and Vishnu.


Vande Vanchit Manortharth Chandrardhkrit Shekharam

Sinharuda Chaturbhuja Katyayini Yashaswanim

Swarnaagya Chakra Stithtan Shashtam Durga Trinetram

Varabheet Karaan Shagpaddharan Katyayansutan Bhajami

Patambar Paridhanan Smermukhi Nanalankar Bhooshitam

Manjeer Haar Keyoor, Kinkini, Ratnakundal Manditam

Prasannvadna Ptrawadharan Kantakpola Tung Kucham

Kamniya Lavanyan Trivalivibhushit Nimn Nabhim.

Stotra Path

Kanchanabha Varabhayan Padyadhara Muktojjwalan

Smermukhi Shivpatni Katyayanesute Namostute

Patambar Paridhanan Nanalankar Bhooshitam

Sinhasthita Padamhastan Katyayanesute Namostute

Parmavdamyi Devi Parbrahma Parmatma

Paramshakti, Parambhakti, Katyayanesutenamostute.

For more information visit:

Like & Share: @astroyatra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Slot Online